Steering Committee and Advisory Board

The Steering Committee and the Advisory Board are cross-disciplinary groups of faculty at the University of Chicago that provide input and guide decision-making related to the future of democracy education at the university.

Steering Committee members

Elisabeth Clemens
William Rainey Harper Distinguished Service Professor of Sociology and the College

Chiara Cordelli
Associate Professor, Political Science

Brodwyn Fischer
Professor of Latin American History and the

Demetra Kasimis
Assistant Professor, Political Science

Matthew Landauer
Assistant Professor, Political Science

Jonathan Levy
Professor of US History, Fundamentals, Social Thought, and the College

John McCormick
Professor of Political Science

Steven Pincus
Thomas E. Donnelly Professor of British History and the College

James Sparrow
Associate Professor of History, the Conceptual and Historical Studies of Science, and the College

Susan Stokes
Tiffany and Margaret Blake Distinguished Service Professor, Political Science

James Wilson
Assistant Professor, Political Science

Advisory Board members

Michael Albertus
Associate Professor, Political Science

Clifford Ando
David B. and Clara E. Stern Professor of Humanities; Professor of Classics, History, Law and in the College

Ruth Bloch Rubin
Assistant Professor, Political Science

John Brehm
Professor of Political Science; Director of Undergraduate Studies

Austin Carson
Assistant Professor, Political Science

Cathy Cohen
David and Mary Winton Green Distinguished Service Professor of Political Science

Jane Dailey
Associate Professor of American History, the Law School, and the College

Michael Dawson
John D. MacArthur Professor of Political Science and the College

William Howell
Sydney Stein Professor in American Politics; Chair, Political Science

Matthew Kruer
Assistant Professor of Early North American History and the College

Alison LaCroix
Robert Newton Reid Professor of Law; Associate Member of the Department of History

Benjamin Lessing
Associate Professor, Political Science

Michèle Lowrie
Andrew W. Mellon Professor, Classics and the College

Robert Morrissey
Benjamin Franklin Professor of French Literature, and the Committee on Interdisciplinary Studies in the Humanities

Sankar Muthu
Associate Professor of Political Science

Deborah Nelson
Dean of the Humanities, and Helen B. and Frank L. Sulzberger Professor of English

Eric Oliver
Professor of Political Science

Paul Poast
Associate Professor, Political Science; Director of Graduate Studies

James Robinson
The Reverend Dr. Richard L. Pearson Professor of Global Conflict Studies, Harris School

Jon Rogowski
Associate Professor, Political Science

Eric Slauter
Associate Professor, English

Gabriel Winant
Assistant Professor of US History and the College

Tara Zahra
Homer J. Livingston Professor of East European History and the College